Created by former Congressman Hatton W. Sumners in 1949, the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation is organized as a Texas nonprofit corporation and, as a 501(c)(3) organization, is exempt from federal taxation under the Internal Revenue Code.

Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, the Foundation is governed by a 9-member
Board of Trustees. They are:

David G. Drumm

Dallas, TX

Lon R. Williams, Jr.
Dallas, TX

William W. Meadows
Fort Worth, TX

The principal staff officer
of the Foundation is:

Hugh C. Akin

Executive Director


Charles L. Moore

Albuquerque, NM
Vice Chairman

Scott M. Higginbotham

Dumas, TX

Brant C. Martin
Fort Worth, TX


Jerry D. Reis

Irving, TX

William Dale Crane

Southlake, TX

Beth Van Duyne
Irving, TX